skip navigation

Recent Edmonton Wildcats News

Prairie Conference Schedule

By Ryan Watters 03/12/2024, 6:00pm PDT

The 2024 PFC schedule opens on August 11

Photo courtesy of Louis Christ Photography

The CJFL and Prairie Conference (PFC) have released their 2024 schedule that will see the six-member Conference open the CJFL season on Sunday August 11, 2024 with a full slate of games.

The defending Canadian Bowl and Conference champion Saskatoon Hilltops begin their title defence that afternoon at 1:00pm when they host the Edmonton Huskies.  The Regina Thunder who finished as the second seed last year will visit the Winnipeg Rifles on the same day and the Calgary Colts welcome the Edmonton Wildcats.

The teams are scheduled to play an eight-week regular season concluding on October 6th.  The Conference playoffs will open the following weekend with a pair of semi-finals before the Conference title game scheduled for Sunday October 20th.

The winner of the Prairie Conference will host the winner of the BC Conference in the CJFL national semi-final game the following week, Sunday October 29th.   The winner of this game will then travel to Ontario and play for the 2024 Canadian Bowl and a national crown on Saturday November 9th.    It will be the first national final host by the Ontario Conference since 2021 in London.

The BC and Ontario Conferences continue to work on their schedules and do anticipate releasing them in the coming weeks.


CJFL Major Award Winners

By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters) 11/10/2023, 8:45pm PST

The best players from 2023 are recognized

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce their Outstanding Player Award winners for the 2023 season.  The awards were handed out Friday night at the Celebration of Excellence in Westshore, BC

The award winners are:

Gordon Currie Coach of the Year
Dexter Janke – Westshore Rebels – he led his Rebels to their first ever undefeated regular season at 10-0 and has his franchise in their first Canadian Bowl since 2016

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Receiver Darius France – St. Clair Saints – he had 18 receptions for 391 yards and had three touchdowns 

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Linebacker Noah Nelson – Ottawa Sooners – 23 tackles, 1.5 sacks, 2 interceptions, one for a touchdown, 1 forced fumble, 7 assisted tackles

Special Teams Player of the Year
Defensive Back Dylan Roberts – London Beefeaters – he had 11 specials teams tackles on the season and held excellent containment during each kick

Larry Wruck Outstanding Defensive Player
Linebacker Stephen Smith – Regina Thunder - 44 tackles, 30 assisted tackles, 1 sack, 1 blocked kick, 1 fumble recovery

Peter Dalla Riva Outstanding Offensive Player
Quarterback Te Jessie – Westshore Rebels - (second consecutive season) – 150 of 212 for 2453 yards, 41 touchdowns.  He completed 70.8% of his passes, the second-best percentage in CJFL history

CJFL Past Commissioners Award
PK Ethan Hartman – Edmonton Huskies

CJFL Stewart MacDonald Executive of the Year
Paul Dimini – Calgary Colts

Ed Henick Award
Paul Shortt – CJFL Deputy Commissioner 

CJFL Life Member
Darcy Park – Edmonton Wildcats

Rick Smoke Community Involvement Award
Hamilton Hurricanes

The 115th Canadian Bowl will kick-off Saturday November 11, at 3:00pm at Starlight Stadium in Westshore BC.

Watch the pay per view Canadian Bowl broadcast HERE


Prairie Conference All-Stars

By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters) 10/19/2023, 8:00am PDT

The All-Stars and All-Rookie Teams are announced

Photo courtesy of Eclectic Shots Photography

The Canadian Junior Football League in conjunction with the Prairie Conference is proud to announce the 2023 Conference All-Stars and All-Rookie Team.

There are 10 positional categories and Conference leading Saskatoon Hilltops have collected 11 All-Star selections.

The 2023 Prairie Conference All-Stars are:

Offensive Line:
Riley Schick – Regina Thunder (third consecutive season)
Ty Thompson – Edmonton Huskies
Nnadozie Marendiukobianwa – Calgary Colts
Nick Makowsky – Regina Thunder
Cody Shumanski – Saskatoon Hilltops

Running Backs:
Boston Davidsen – Saskatoon Hilltops – 170 carries for 1184 yards and 9 touchdowns

Ryland Leichert – Regina Thunder – 152 carries for 1017 yards and 8 touchdowns

Isaiah Woodley – Regina Thunder (second consecutive season) – 41 receptions for 677 yards and 5 touchdowns

Nicholas Sirleaf (pictured) – Calgary Colts – 45 receptions for 739 yards and 8 touchdowns

Drake Douglas – Saskatoon Hilltops – 42 receptions for 591 yards and 4 touchdowns 

Carver Trapp – Edmonton Huskies – 22 receptions for 371 yards and 2 touchdowns

Quarterbacks (tie):
Liam Oczkowski – Calgary Colts – 133 of 201 for 1648 yards and 10 touchdowns. He completed 66% of his passes.

Trey Reider – Saskatoon Hilltops – 108 of 167 for 1571 yards and 16 touchdowns.  He completed 65% of his passes.

Place Kicker:
Teijon Abel-Douglas – Saskatoon Hilltops – 23 of 27, 85.2% field goals

Defensive Line:
Riece Kack – Saskatoon Hilltops (second consecutive season) – 15 tackles, 9 assisted tackle, 7.5 sacks, 1 knockdown, 1 fumble recovery

Zach Angstadt – Calgary Colts – 12 tackles, 7 assisted tackles, 3 sacks, 1 fumble recovery 

Johnathon Stevens – Saskatoon Hilltops – 20 tackles, 4 assisted tackles, 3 sacks, 1 knockdown, 2 forced fumbles, 2 interceptions 

Payton O’Connor – Regina Thunder – 9 tackles, 3 assisted tackles, 1 knockdown, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery

Stephen Smith – Regina Thunder (second consecutive season) – 44 tackles, 30 assisted tackles, 1 sack, 1 blocked kick, 1 fumble recovery

Matt Wist – Saskatoon Hilltops – 22 tackles, 17 assisted tackles, 6 sacks, 3 interceptions, 1 for a touchdown, 2 knockdowns, 2 forced fumbles

Noah Gedir – Saskatoon Hilltops – 26 tackles, 14 assisted tackles, 1 sack, 2 knockdowns, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery

Defensive Backs:
Cedric McCallum – Edmonton Huskies – 32 tackles, 5 assisted tackles, 3 knockdowns, 3 interceptions, 3 fumble recoveries, one for a touchdown

Sam Kolkman – Edmonton Huskies – 7 interceptions, 20 tackles, 4 assisted tackles, 1 forced fumble

Dalton Urban – Saskatoon Hilltops – 5 interceptions, 12 tackles, 3 assisted tackles, 1 knockdown, 1 fumble recovery for a touchdown

Cody Anglo – Calgary Colts – 22 tackles, 6 assisted tackles, 2 interceptions, 1 knockdown, 2 forced fumbles 

Joseph Funk-Clements – Winnipeg Rifles – 12 tackles, 5 assisted tackles, 3 knockdowns, 1 fumble recovery

Matt Wist – Saskatoon Hilltops – 47 punts with a 32.2-yard average and 3 singles

Return Specialist:
Caleb Akerley – Edmonton Huskies (second consecutive season) – 23 punt returns for 180 yards, 23 kick-off returns for 512 yards

The Prairie Conference is preparing for their Conference final this Sunday when the Saskatoon Hilltops host the Regina Thunder.

All-Rookie Team

Offensive Lineman:
Yohan Medina – Calgary Colts 

Running Back:
Peter Boersch – Regina Thunder

Datiel Fountaine – Saskatoon Hilltops  

Julien Beaulieu – Edmonton Wildcats  

Defensive Linemen:
Zach Angstadt – Calgary Colts 

Matthew Alloway – Edmonton Huskies 

Defensive Back:
Ryan Raymont – Edmonton Huskies 

James Keane – Calgary Colts 

Robert Lasebnik – Calgary Colts 

  • Week 10 Preview

  • By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters) 09/29/2023, 7:00am PDT
  • Another full slate of games in Week 10
  • Read More