skip navigation

Recent Calgary Colts News

Prairie Conference Schedule

By Ryan Watters 03/12/2024, 6:00pm PDT

The 2024 PFC schedule opens on August 11

Photo courtesy of Louis Christ Photography

The CJFL and Prairie Conference (PFC) have released their 2024 schedule that will see the six-member Conference open the CJFL season on Sunday August 11, 2024 with a full slate of games.

The defending Canadian Bowl and Conference champion Saskatoon Hilltops begin their title defence that afternoon at 1:00pm when they host the Edmonton Huskies.  The Regina Thunder who finished as the second seed last year will visit the Winnipeg Rifles on the same day and the Calgary Colts welcome the Edmonton Wildcats.

The teams are scheduled to play an eight-week regular season concluding on October 6th.  The Conference playoffs will open the following weekend with a pair of semi-finals before the Conference title game scheduled for Sunday October 20th.

The winner of the Prairie Conference will host the winner of the BC Conference in the CJFL national semi-final game the following week, Sunday October 29th.   The winner of this game will then travel to Ontario and play for the 2024 Canadian Bowl and a national crown on Saturday November 9th.    It will be the first national final host by the Ontario Conference since 2021 in London.

The BC and Ontario Conferences continue to work on their schedules and do anticipate releasing them in the coming weeks.


CJFL Major Award Winners

By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters) 11/10/2023, 8:45pm PST

The best players from 2023 are recognized

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce their Outstanding Player Award winners for the 2023 season.  The awards were handed out Friday night at the Celebration of Excellence in Westshore, BC

The award winners are:

Gordon Currie Coach of the Year
Dexter Janke – Westshore Rebels – he led his Rebels to their first ever undefeated regular season at 10-0 and has his franchise in their first Canadian Bowl since 2016

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Receiver Darius France – St. Clair Saints – he had 18 receptions for 391 yards and had three touchdowns 

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Linebacker Noah Nelson – Ottawa Sooners – 23 tackles, 1.5 sacks, 2 interceptions, one for a touchdown, 1 forced fumble, 7 assisted tackles

Special Teams Player of the Year
Defensive Back Dylan Roberts – London Beefeaters – he had 11 specials teams tackles on the season and held excellent containment during each kick

Larry Wruck Outstanding Defensive Player
Linebacker Stephen Smith – Regina Thunder - 44 tackles, 30 assisted tackles, 1 sack, 1 blocked kick, 1 fumble recovery

Peter Dalla Riva Outstanding Offensive Player
Quarterback Te Jessie – Westshore Rebels - (second consecutive season) – 150 of 212 for 2453 yards, 41 touchdowns.  He completed 70.8% of his passes, the second-best percentage in CJFL history

CJFL Past Commissioners Award
PK Ethan Hartman – Edmonton Huskies

CJFL Stewart MacDonald Executive of the Year
Paul Dimini – Calgary Colts

Ed Henick Award
Paul Shortt – CJFL Deputy Commissioner 

CJFL Life Member
Darcy Park – Edmonton Wildcats

Rick Smoke Community Involvement Award
Hamilton Hurricanes

The 115th Canadian Bowl will kick-off Saturday November 11, at 3:00pm at Starlight Stadium in Westshore BC.

Watch the pay per view Canadian Bowl broadcast HERE


First Team Offensive All-Canadians

By Ryan Watters 11/09/2023, 9:00am PST

They were the best offensive players in 2023

Photo courtesy of Louis Christ Photography

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce the First-Team Offensive All-Canadians for the 2023 season.

Offensive Line

Isaiah Letander – Valley Huskers (second consecutive season)
Jeff Vander Werff – Okanagan Sun (second consecutive season)
Ezzat Elnagmi – St. Clair Saints
Cody Shumanski – Saskatoon Hilltops
Riley Schick – Regina Thunder


Kieran Poissant – Westshore Rebels (second consecutive season) – 54 receptions, 849 yards and 13 touchdowns

Drake Douglas – Saskatoon Hilltops - 42 receptions for 591 yards and 4 touchdowns

Javier Lewis – St. Clair Saints - he caught 20 passes for 536 yards and had a Conference high seven touchdowns

Nicholas Sirleaf – Calgary Colts - 45 receptions for 739 yards and 8 touchdowns

Running Backs

LJ Dyer – London Beefeaters - he won the Ontario Conference rushing title with 1158 yards on 136 carries and had nine touchdowns

Boston Davidsen – Saskatoon Hilltops - 170 carries for 1184 yards and 9 touchdowns


Te Jessie – Westshore Rebels (second consecutive season) – 150 of 212 for 2453 yards, 41 touchdowns.  He completed 70.8% of his passes, the second-best percentage in CJFL history.

Place Kicker

Teijon Abel-Douglas – Saskatoon Hilltops - 23 of 27, 85.2% field goals


Caleb Akerley – Edmonton Huskies - 23 punt returns for 180 yards, 23 kick-off returns for 512 yards

Following the CJFL Celebration of Excellence on Friday night in Westshore, the CJFL will announce the Outstanding Award winners for 2023.