skip navigation

Recent Edmonton Huskies News

18 Invited to CFL Combine

By Ryan Watters 02/13/2024, 11:30am PST

The CJFL will be well represented on March 8

A total of 18 players with CJFL experience have been invited to the CFL Invitation Combine on March 8th.  The event will take place on the campus of the University of Waterloo in Ontario.

These top prospects will be put through a series of drills to showcase their skills for the CFL’s general managers, coaches and player personnel.

The hope for these 18 players is to receive an extended invitation to the main CFL Combine slated for March 21-24 taking place in Winnipeg. 

The 18 CJFL invites are:

Ife Adebogun – Edmonton Huskies

Burkely Banilevic – Quinte Skyhawks

Jaiden Claassen – Valley Huskers

Geoff Clubine – London Beefeaters

Ezzat Elnagmi – St. Clair Saints

Richard Graham – Ottawa Sooners

Anthony Grigg – Hamilton Hurricanes

Matthew Hajewich – Regina Thunder 

Dawson Marchant – Langley Rams

Brandyn Martin – Regina Thunder

Nate Norton – St. Clair Saints

Payton O’Connor – Regina Thunder

Isaiah Okoli – Langley Rams

Keewone Parker – St. Clair Saints

Kaine Stevenson – Westshore Rebels

Liam Stewart – Langley Rams

James Stockwood – Okanagan Sun

Daniel Townsend – Okanagan Sun

CJFL Major Award Winners

By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters) 11/10/2023, 8:45pm PST

The best players from 2023 are recognized

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce their Outstanding Player Award winners for the 2023 season.  The awards were handed out Friday night at the Celebration of Excellence in Westshore, BC

The award winners are:

Gordon Currie Coach of the Year
Dexter Janke – Westshore Rebels – he led his Rebels to their first ever undefeated regular season at 10-0 and has his franchise in their first Canadian Bowl since 2016

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Receiver Darius France – St. Clair Saints – he had 18 receptions for 391 yards and had three touchdowns 

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Linebacker Noah Nelson – Ottawa Sooners – 23 tackles, 1.5 sacks, 2 interceptions, one for a touchdown, 1 forced fumble, 7 assisted tackles

Special Teams Player of the Year
Defensive Back Dylan Roberts – London Beefeaters – he had 11 specials teams tackles on the season and held excellent containment during each kick

Larry Wruck Outstanding Defensive Player
Linebacker Stephen Smith – Regina Thunder - 44 tackles, 30 assisted tackles, 1 sack, 1 blocked kick, 1 fumble recovery

Peter Dalla Riva Outstanding Offensive Player
Quarterback Te Jessie – Westshore Rebels - (second consecutive season) – 150 of 212 for 2453 yards, 41 touchdowns.  He completed 70.8% of his passes, the second-best percentage in CJFL history

CJFL Past Commissioners Award
PK Ethan Hartman – Edmonton Huskies

CJFL Stewart MacDonald Executive of the Year
Paul Dimini – Calgary Colts

Ed Henick Award
Paul Shortt – CJFL Deputy Commissioner 

CJFL Life Member
Darcy Park – Edmonton Wildcats

Rick Smoke Community Involvement Award
Hamilton Hurricanes

The 115th Canadian Bowl will kick-off Saturday November 11, at 3:00pm at Starlight Stadium in Westshore BC.

Watch the pay per view Canadian Bowl broadcast HERE


First Team Defensive All-Canadians

By Ryan Watters 11/08/2023, 9:00am PST

The best defensive players during the 2023 season

The CJFL is proud the announce the 2023 First Team Defensive All-Canadians.

Defensive Line

Riece Kack – Saskatoon Hilltops (second consecutive season) – 15 tackles, 9 assisted tackle, 7.5 sacks, 1 knockdown, 1 fumble recovery

Richard Graham – Ottawa Sooners - 24 tackles, 5 sacks, 3 forced fumbles, 1 fumble recovery for a touchdown, 1 blocked kick, 1 interception for a touchdown, 2 knockdowns

Johnathon Stevens – Saskatoon Hilltops - 20 tackles, 4 assisted tackles, 3 sacks, 1 knockdown, 2 forced fumbles, 2 interceptions

Cam Michaud – Okanagan Sun - 9 tackles, 4 sacks, 1 blocked kick, 4 assisted tackles


Demar Hohnstein – Westshore Rebels - 56 solo tackles, 10 assisted tackles, 4.5 sacks, 1 interception, 2 forced fumbles

Stephen Smith – Regina Thunder - 44 tackles, 30 assisted tackles, 1 sack, 1 blocked kick, 1 fumble recovery

Keewone Parker – St. Clair Saints (pictured) - 20 tackles, 18 assisted tackles, 1 blocked kick, 1 forced fumble, 3 fumble recoveries

Defensive Backs

Nathanial Norton – St. Clair Saints (second consecutive season) - 13 tackles, 4 interceptions, 1 forced fumble, 6 assisted tackles

Gio Linuzzi – Westshore Rebels – 13 tackles, 5 interceptions, three knockdowns, 1 fumble recovery

Michael Jourdan – Okanagan Sun - 21 tackles, 8 interceptions, 2 fumble recoveries, 1 assisted tackle

Cedric McCallum – Edmonton Huskies - 32 tackles, 5 assisted tackles, 3 knockdowns, 3 interceptions, 3 fumble recoveries, one for a touchdown

Cody Anglo – Calgary Colts - 22 tackles, 6 assisted tackles, 2 interceptions, 1 knockdown, 2 forced fumbles


Matt Wist – Saskatoon Hilltops - 47 punts with a 32.2-yard average and 3 singles

The First Team Offensive All-Canadians will be unveiled on Thursday November 9th.