skip navigation

Ontario Conference

Playoffs 2017

Recent Ontario Football Conference News

CJFL Rick Smoke Volunteer Recognition Award

01/12/2022, 7:30am PST
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

Tim Holden has been volunteering since 2004

The CJFL is proud to announce Tim Holden has been recognized with the CJFL Rick Smoke Volunteer Recognition Award.

“With all the volunteers in the league to be recognized with the Rick Smoke Award is an honour,” said Holden.

Following his playing days, Tim has been a volunteer since 2004 beginning with the Windsor AKO Fratmen and continuing to the present iteration of the team the St. Clair Fratmen.  Throughout the years Tim has handled everything from equipment manager, game film coordinator and statistician.  

In 2019 he took on a more active role at the Conference level acting as registrar and then this past season in 2021 when one of the Conference Vice-Presidents needed to resign, Tim stepped up again. In addition to his team responsibilities with the Fratmen and registration duties with the Conference Tim took on added responsibilities coordinating the OFC coaching certification, assisted with the new website and even conducted the stats for one of the other OFC teams whose statistician was unable to do them for a particular game.  

Tim Holden truly embodies the spirit of the Rick Smoke Award.

Know someone in the CJFL worthy of this recognition, email CJFL Executive Director Paul Shortt HERE.

About the Rick Smoke Memorial Volunteer Recognition Award:

Junior football is successful because of the dedicated volunteers who work tirelessly behind the scenes. The CJFL would like to recognize these individuals.

The Rick Smoke Memorial Volunteer Recognition Award is named for former CJFL Treasurer Rick Smoke, who passed away suddenly in 2013.

Rick dedicated many years to junior football at the team and conference level, and over 25 years on the CJFL Executive as Treasurer.

This award, to honour Rick’s memory, is a tribute to celebrate and recognize the volunteers, past and present, who have dedicated a minimum of 10 years to the CJFL and junior football, whether at the team, conference or CJFL levels.

The celebrated volunteers will also be presented with a Rick Smoke Memorial Volunteers pin.

London Beefeaters Announcement

01/05/2022, 9:30am PST
By Supplied

Head coach Gavin Lake will not return for 2022

Photo courtesy of Joanna Kurowski Photography

The Ontario Conference champion London Beefeaters have announced that head coach Gavin Lake will not return to the team for the 2022 season.

The Beefeaters Board of Directors would like to thank Coach Lake for his hard work and commitment to the organization and wish him all the best in his future endeavors.  He led the team to a 6-2 regular season record in 2021, an Ontario Conference title and their first ever berth in the Canadian Bowl.

No decision has been made on a new head coach at this time but an announcement will be made when the position has been filled.

Langley Rams Win Canadian Bowl

12/04/2021, 12:45pm PST
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

For the first time in franchise history

For the first time in franchise history the Langley Rams are CJFL Canadian Bowl champions after a 37-0 shutout over of the London Beefeaters.

The Rams defence was yet again the story like it has been all season long.  They pounded away at the Beefeaters offence not allowing them to get into a rhythm giving up just five first downs and a net offence of 20 yards.  They also set a new Canadian Bowl record with an incredible 10 sacks with Tyler Eckert accounting for 3.5 of them (also a Canadian Bowl record) along with five solo tackles and was named the Canadian Bowl Defensive Player of the Game.  Cole Barron also have five solo tackles and added a pair of sacks while Jesse Goedman had three tackles, a sack, forced a fumble and picked off a pass.

This performance all but solidified the Rams defence as the best all-time in CJFL history.

Offensively the Rams did struggle against a solid Beefeaters D as the bulk of the scoring came from the special teams.  Kicker Tato Ferreyro-Araya booted a pair of first quarter field goals, before the Beefeaters gave up five conceded safeties, taking a 14-0 lead into halftime.

In the third quarter the Rams struck again on special teams, but this time it was courtesy of the return game. CJFL Rookie of the Year Daniel Kubongo took a punt back 85-yards for a major which doubled as the dagger in the hearts of the Beefeaters.  Kubongo was also named the Special Teams  Player of the Game.

With 6:57 left in the third, quarterback Michael Calvert struck for a 15-yard touchdown to Mario Johnson to increase the lead to 30-0.   Then early in the fourth quarter Derek Best plowed his way into the end zone to round out the Rams scoring.  In all, Best had a game high 11 carries for 55 tough yards.  Calvert meanwhile was 12 of 25 for 144 yards and the major.

On the other side the Beefeaters in their first ever Canadian Bowl did play well on defence but wore down as the game went on.  With the offence struggling to click the defence found themselves on the field for the majority of the game.   All-Canadian Codey McRoberts led the charge with three tackles, a knockdown and forced a fumble.  Jordan Fletcher claimed the lone sack and Devon Smith and Toby Gbobaniyi both intercepted a pass.

The Rams defence pitched the Canadian Bowl’s first shutout since 2003 and are the first BC Conference team to win a national championship since 2009.

Congratulations to the Langley Rams.

Players of the Game
Offensive – Michael Calvert – Langley Rams
Defensive – Tyler Eckert – Langley Rams
Special Teams – Daniel Kubongo – Langley Rams