skip navigation

Saskatoon Hilltops

Regular Season 2015

Saskatoon Hilltops Recent News

Recent Saskatoon Hilltops News

Prairie Conference Defensive All-Stars

10/22/2019, 12:30pm PDT
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

The top defensive players in the Prairie Conference

Photo courtesy of Gord Mellor

The Canadian Junior Football League in conjunction with the Prairie Conference is proud to announce the 2019 Conference Defensive All-Stars.

The 2019 Prairie Conference Defensive All-Stars are:

Defensive Line:

Jesse McNabb – Saskatoon Hilltops (second consecutive season) – 26 tackles, 3 sacks

Justin Kwiatkowski – Winnipeg Rifles (second consecutive season)

Carson Bell – Regina Thunder*- 11 tackles, 13 assisted  tackles, 2.5 sacks, 1 fumble recovery

Ronny Bakehe – Edmonton Wildcats – 18 tackles, 2 assisted tackles, 1.5 sacks


Davin Williamson – Regina Thunder (second consecutive season) – 26 tackles, 8 assisted tackles, 1 knockdown, 1 fumble recovery, 1 interception

Brett Van der Korput – Edmonton Huskies* - 29 tackles, 3 assisted stops, 3 sacks, 1 forced fumble, 1 interception

Jadyn Pingue – Saskatoon Hilltops – 29 tackles, 7 assisted tackles, 1 knockdown, 1 fumble recovery, 1 interception

Chopper Hippe – Edmonton Wildcats – 46 tackles, 6 assisted tackles, 1 knockdown

Defensive Backs:

Justin Hodinsky – Edmonton Huskies* (second consecutive season) – 27 tackles, 2 assisted tackles, 3 knockdowns, 3 interceptions

Colton Holmes – Saskatoon Hilltops* (second consecutive season) - 12 tackles, 5 assisted tackles, 2 knockdowns, 1 fumble recovery, 1 interception

Brant Morrow – Saskatoon Hilltops – 15 tackles, 5 assisted tackles, 2 knockdowns, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery, 3 interceptions, one for a touchdown

Brandyn Martin – Regina Thunder – 20 tackles, 2 assisted tackles, 3 knockdowns, 2 fumble recoveries, 6 interceptions

Cheyvez Campbell – Edmonton Huskies (pictured) – 13 tackles, 4 assisted tackles, 3 knockdowns, 3 fumble recoveries, 6 interceptions

Eric Maximuik  -Regina Thunder – 41 punts, 37.8 average, 1 single

Return Specialist:
Ben Wilton – Edmonton Huskies – 9 punt returns for a 12.9 average and 6 kick-off returns for a 34.2 yard average and 1 return for a touchdown of 112 yards

The Prairie Conference is preparing for their Conference title game on Sunday when the Saskatoon Hilltops host the Edmonton Huskies

*unanimous selection

Prairie Conference Offensive All-Stars

10/22/2019, 11:00am PDT
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

The best in Prairies on the offensive side

Photo courtesy of Wanda Harron Photography

The Canadian Junior Football League in conjunction with the Prairie Conference is proud to announce the 2019 Conference Offensive All-Stars.

The 2019 Prairie Conference Offensive All-Stars are:

Offensive Line:

Logan Ferland – Regina Thunder* (fourth consecutive season)
Mason Ochs – Saskatoon Hilltops* (third consecutive season)
Ryder Klisowsky – Saskatoon Hilltops
Joel Cardinal – Edmonton Huskies
Jaden Lakie – Winnipeg Rifles

Running Backs:

Brandt Burzuk – Edmonton Huskies* (second consecutive season) – 129 carries for 824 yards, 6 touchdowns

Ben Abrook – Saskatoon Hilltops – he won the Prairie Conference rushing title with 199 carries for 1215 yards and 8 touchdowns


Ethan Douglas – Regina Thunder – 34 receptions for 631 yards, 7 touchdowns

Isaac Foord – Regina Thunder – 31 receptions for 605 yards, 2 touchdowns

Connor Graham – Saskatoon Hilltops – 28 receptions for 599 yards, 6 touchdowns

Keegan Dicks – Saskatoon Hilltops – 31 receptions for 494 yards, 4 touchdowns

Blake Scherle – Regina Thunder – 144 of 247 (58%), 2196 yards, 17 touchdowns, 93.8 passer efficiency rating

Place Kicker:
Rylan Kleiter – Saskatoon Hilltops – 18 of 22 (81.8%) field goals.  Scored exactly 100 points in 2019

The Prairie Conference is preparing for their Conference title game on Sunday when the Saskatoon Hilltops host the Edmonton Huskies.

*unanimous selection



Prairie Conference Playoff Rewind

10/20/2019, 9:15pm PDT
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

The Hilltops and Huskies advance in the CJFL playoffs

Photo courtesy of Louis Christ Photography

Edmonton Huskies 20
Regina Thunder 17

The Huskies punched their ticket to the Prairie Conference final for the second straight year with a three point road victory over the Thunder on Sunday.

The defence stood tall for the Huskies, after the offence scored 15 of their 20 points in the first quarter.  They held the Thunder to just 70 yards rushing and focused on slowing down the passing attack.  They forced three turnovers led by Justin Hodinsky who had two interceptions and five solo tackles.  Team leading tackler Tadi Siwira collected another three stops, two assisted tackles and had a knockdown.

On the offensive side quarterback Declan O’Flaherty was outstanding completing 29 passes for 375 yards and a pair of first quarter touchdown passes.  His favourite target was Sam Clayton who hauled in 11 receptions for 113 yards and a touchdown.  Ronnie Oling also had a major on five catches.

The Thunder started rolling in the second half, scoring 13 of their 17 points but still came up a bit short.  Quarterback Blake Scherle had a big game completing 21 passes for 294 yards and had an 18 yard rushing touchdown.  But it was his two interceptions that hurt the Thunder.  Running back Maxwell Foerster had the other touchdown for the home side.

The defence did hold the Huskies to just 89 yards on the ground, but it was the passing game they struggled to stop.  Brandyn Martin was the best defender on the field with a game high nine solo tackles while Davin Williamson had four and a knockdown.

The Huskies move onto the Prairie Conference title game in Saskatoon on Sunday in a rematch of last year’s championship game.  The winner will head to Ontario for the CJFL National Semi-Final.

Saskatoon Hilltops 31
Edmonton Wildcats 7

The Hilltops jumped out to a 14 point lead in the first quarter and never looked back.  As they do so often the ground game controlled the play led by Ben Abrook and his 29 carries for 153 yards and he scored two touchdowns.  In all the Hilltops chewed up 229 yards on the ground.

Quarterback Tyler Hermann seemed content to hand the ball off.  However when they needed a pass he was there and more often than not made a positive play by completing 10 passes for 125 yards and threw two touchdowns in his playoff debut as a starter.   Both touchdown passes were caught by Rylan Kleiter, which were the only balls he caught on the afternoon.

Defensively the Hilltops forced five turnovers and Jared Giddings had two of them, including intercepting a pass and forcing and recovering a fumble.  Evan Mantyka had eight tackles and Jesse McNabb had six and shared a sack.

The Wildcats tried to tie up the Hilltops defensively by starting Devin Desormeau at quarterback rather than Dante Tabacu.  Desormeau had a decent game completing 24 passes for 200 yards and found Tanner Holt for a second quarter touchdown.

On the defensive side Rony Bakehe had four tackles and the lone sack while Tony Savchuk intercepted a pass.

The Hilltops will now host the Edmonton Huskies for the second straight season in the Prairie Conference final on Sunday at 1:00pm at SMF Field.