skip navigation

Member Monday: Okanagan Sun

03/01/2021, 10:30am PST
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

A proud member of the CJFL since 1981

The Okanagan Sun became a member of the Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) in the BC Conference for the first time in 1981. In their 39 years of play, they have been the most consistent dominate team in British Columbia.

The Sun have recorded the most wins all-time and have a record of 297-66-9 for a winning percentage of 818%.
They have played out of the Apple Bowl since their inception and have created a home field that is difficult for visiting teams to win in. Since 1984, they have a home record of 143-24-4.  The natural grass surface at the Apple Bowl is the last of its kind in the CJFL as all over 17 teams now play on turf.

Over the years the Sun have finished in first place in the BC Conference a total of 20 times. They also have 11 consecutive first places finishes from 1995-2005. They have made the BC Conference playoffs a record 38 consecutive years and have an overall playoff record of 45-24. They have won 15 Cullen Cup championships with their first coming in 1983. Between 1995 and 2002, they won eight consecutive BC titles.

The Sun have played in eight Canadian Bowls, winning two (1988 & 2000). They defeated the Burlington Jr Tiger Cats for their first and the Saskatoon Hilltops twelve years later for their second. They were the first team in CJFL history to play in five consecutive Canadian Bowl championships from 1997-2001.

Five players and two coaches have been honoured at the national level. Running back Ron Arnold was named the CJFL Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year in 1997, running back Terrance Huston in 1998 and quarterback Zack Silverman in 2000.

On the other side of the ball defensive lineman Steven Doege was named the CJFL’s Top Defender in 2011.
In 2004 Duncan Acres was honoured as the CJFL Past Commissioner Community Service Award winner.

A pair of Sun coaches have won the CJFL Gordon Currie Coach of the Year Award; Pete McCall in 2010 and Shane Beatty was twice honoured in 2014 and 2015.

Several former Sun players have moved onto the CFL ranks over the years:

Saleem Borhot – Edmonton Eskimos
Jay Christensen – BC Lions / Calgary Stampeders / Edmonton Eskimos / Ottawa Red Blacks
Nate Coehoorn – Edmonton Eskimos
Mike Crumb – BC Lions / Toronto Argonauts
Adam Eckert– Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Moe Elewonibi – BC Lions / Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Chad Folk – Toronto Argonauts
Ryan Folk – Montreal Alouettes
James Green – Toronto Argonauts
Dexter Janke – Calgary Stampeders / Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Mike Marasco – BC Lions
Spencer McLennan – BC Lions / Montreal Alouettes / Winnipeg Blue Bombers
David Pitcher – Saskatchewan Roughriders
Stefen Reid – Montreal Alouettes
Dounia Whitehouse – Edmonton Eskimos
Spencer Wilson – Calgary Stampeders

Quick Sun Facts:
Conference – BC Conference
Location – 1555 Burtch Rd. Kelowna
Sun President – Parker Evans
Head Coach – Jamie Boreham
Stadium – Apple Bowl
Social Handle - @okanagansun / @okanagan_sun
Motto – #sunwin #sunriseup
Primary Colours – Brown and Orange

Tag(s): Home  Okanagan Sun  Okanagan Sun  Okanagan Sun  Okanagan Sun  Okanagan Sun  Okanagan Sun  Okanagan Sun