skip navigation

CJFL Coaching Legends - Currie

08/18/2020, 8:45pm PDT
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

Six Canadian Bowl titles for Gordon Currie

Before names like Sarge, McCrystal and Kawaza captured success on the sidelines of the CJFL, one man stood above everyone else.  

Gordon Currie coached 12 seasons with the Regina Rams from 1965-1976 in the then Manitoba-Saskatchewan Conference and was in a class all to himself.   He would coach his teams to 76 regular season victories and nine Conference titles including seven in a row from 1970-76.  Those nine titles are still second most in CJFL history.  Once getting to the big dance of the Canadian Bowl, Currie was able to coach his teams to six national championships, third most in CJFL history.  He won back-to-back titles twice in 1970 and 1971 as well as 1975-1976.

His individual record set the tone for coaches following in his footsteps.   After he retired the CJFL decided to honour Gordon the best way they could; since 1989 each season the league hands out the “Gordon Currie Coach of the Year Award” to the top coach across the country.

With 76 wins and six Canadian Bowl titles Gordon Currie is certainly most deserving of the CJFL Legendary status.

Tag(s): Home  PFC  PFC  PFC  PFC  PFC  PFC  PFC  PFC