skip navigation

Vancouver Island Raiders

Regular Season 2016

Vancouver Island Raiders Recent News

  • CJFL @ The Grey Cup

  • 11/22/2017, 10:00am PST , By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)
  • Nine former CJFL players will be part of Sunday's game
  • Read More
  • Four-Peat

  • 11/11/2017, 2:30pm PST , By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)
  • The Saskatoon Hilltops are Canadian Bowl champs, again
  • Read More

Recent Vancouver Island Raiders News

CJFL Sack Masters: Quinton Bowles

12/10/2017, 10:30pm PST
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

The CJFL leader in sacks for 2017

Photo courtesy of Brenda Pelland Photography

What a comeback season for Quinton Bowles of the VI Raiders.  After suiting up for the University of Manitoba Bisons in 2016, Bowles returned to the CJFL for his final season and made an immediate impact.

In his first game back with the Raiders on July 29th he recorded two sacks against the Langley Rams setting the tone for the rest of the season.

In Week 4 Bowles joined an elite group of pass rushers recording five sacks against the Kamloops Broncos at Caledonia Park.  He became just the seventh player in CJFL history to do so and first since 2012.

In all Bowles had three multi-sack games in 2017 and finished with a CJFL high 11.5 sacks.  His total set a new Raiders team record and he was named the BC Conference Defensive Player of the Year.

He will be sorely missed in 2018 as he leaves behind big shoes to fill.  Over course of his four years with the Raiders he collected 26 sacks, fourth all time in CJFL history.


In Flanders Fields by the CJFL

11/11/2017, 4:00am PST
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

CJFL players recite the famous poem

The 110th Canadian Bowl between the Saskatoon Hilltops and Windsor AKO Fratmen takes place on Remembrance Day, Saturday November 11th.

CJFL players from across the country recite the famous poem by Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae

CJFL Major Awards Winners

11/10/2017, 5:45pm PST
By Ryan Watters (@ryan2tswatters)

Recap of the CJFL Banquet of Champions

Photos courtesy of Brenda Pelland (Mayoh) & Gord Mellor (Brown)

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce their Outstanding Player Award winners for the 2017 season.  The awards were handed out Friday night at the Banquet of Champions in Windsor, ON.

The award winners are:

Gordon Currie Coach of the Year
Iain MacLean - Edmonton Huskies – led the Huskies to the CJFL Canadian Bowl Championship Series with a 7-1 record and a second place finish in the Prairie Conference.  Six of his players were named CJFL All-Canadians

Rookie of the Year
Receiver Brandon MacIsaac – Calgary Colts – 35 receptions for 567 yards and 3 touchdowns

Larry Wruck Outstanding Defensive Player
Linebacker Jassen Brown – Edmonton Huskies – 42 tackles, 6 assisted tackles, 1.5 sacks, 1 knockdown, 1 forced fumble and 1 interception

Peter Dalla Riva Outstanding Offensive Player
Receiver Brycen Mayoh – VI Raiders - 44 receptions for a CJFL high 805 yards and 12 touchdowns

Ed Henick Award
Jim Stevenson - London Beefeaters

CJFL Past Commissioners Award
Offensive lineman Gunnar Thurrott – Edmonton Huskies

CJFL Stewart MacDonald Executive of the Year
Karen Escoffery – GTA Grizzlies

The 110th Canadian Bowl will kick-off Saturday November 11, at 1:00pm at Alumni Field in Windsor, ON


Watch the online Windsor broadcast HERE

Listen to the Saskatoon radio broadcast in Saskatoon HERE